Naan Pizza - A food trend of 2017

Naan pizza is fusion food at its best! India meets Italy and became en vogue this year as a food trend.

 

I am huge fan of pizza and Indian cuisine, of course I had to try this out. 

When Gandhi entered a pizzeria...

For parties I often cook pizza, because this is, what everybody loves. Basically, this recipe is how I cook pizza. But instead of pizza dough, I use naan bread here. This is a great idea of having your own fresh pizza any time you like. My problem always was: When I buy pizza dough or even would make it myself, there is too much of it for one meal. So if I do not find one or two friends eating with me, I would end up eating my own giant pizza all over the entire day. Just to save my reputation: it IS actually possible, but you do not want to see or even have pizza after that for a couple of week - believe me guys!

 

So creating one or two small pizzas for one meal is ideal for me. This food trend gave me the solution to have my own pizza more often. I love this food trend!

 

First heat your oven well up to 250 degrees Celsius. While the oven heats up, prepare your naan pizza. 

 

 

You may get your ready-to-eat naan at your next Indian grocery store. This is not the best, but fastest way to get your hands on naan. With 'not the best' I mean, it's an industrial product with more (chemical) ingredients than an original, hand-made naan has. Therefore you can store it a couple of days, and you don't have too much fresh naan bread you have to consume at once before it gets tough. Normally, these packed naan is vegan. To be 100% sure, just check the list of ingredients first.

 

 

An important basic for my pizza is always a good mozzarella. When I use other cheeses, it's feta, goat cheese or gorgonzola - never some nameless grated crap!

 

Just drain the mozzarella from the package and cut it into 6 slices. 

 

Today, there is great vegan mozzarella available. But my absolute favourite for Pizza and salads is the Greek White of Violife.

 

 

Prepare your fresh toppings for your naan pizza. Along with the mozzarella I chose this time black olives, chilis and red onions for pizza # 1. For pizza # 2 I had some picked artichokes and garlic. Both naan pizzas got some fresh basil leaves and a dash of olive oil after cooking. 

 

 

Making your own, fresh tomato sauce is a job of its own. That's why I prefer convenience, when it is reasonable - but just the best! I tested several brands all over many years and finally found MY brand Zwergenwiese, I buy at the organic supermarket. 

 



 

Before these delicious babies will be put into the oven, season them to taste. Be careful with the salt, if you already have salty toppings on board!

 

Sneak preview:

 


 

It's getting hot, ladies! Put them inside on mid-level for 10 minutes. Make sure the cheese has melted well. Now they are ready to serve.

 

 

Garnish with the basil leaves and a dash of olive oil and enjoy!

 

 

If your result looks like this, you can celebrate a big success! You have created this within 20 minutes. This is a great snack for two or a good dinner for one. 

 

But for me, there is still one question unanswered!

 

To be continued...

 

How does naan pizza taste with freshly made garlic naan? Therefore I visited one of my trusted Indian restaurants in Düsseldorf and ordered 2 uncooked garlic naans for take-away. Ok, the were not entirely raw - just swiftly put in the oven for a minute. This might be the same principle the industrial-made garlic naan is shortly precooked at the factory, and will be cooked ready-to-serve at the customers home.

 

See the difference:

 

 

I prepared the second row of naan pizzas the same way like the first row to have a better comparison. No doubt - they look delicious, too.

 

 

Now here are the results:

 

  • The convenience garlic naan was much saltier than the fresh ones. So do not use additional salt when using convenience products!
  • Of course the fresh garlic naan was more expensive. 
  • You can eat your naan pizza made with convenience naan with your hands after cutting them into pieces easily.
  • No chance without cutlery, when it comes to freshly made garlic naan bread turned into naan pizza! 

 

You see: both versions have their pros and cons. I'd rather stick to the convenience version.

 

As a third solution, there is frozen naan available in Indian grocery stores, but these ones are normally cooked in the pan. The ones I tried out were not very convincing to me. So I would skip that for naan pizza anyway.

 

Please like & share. Thanks!

 

 Note: This blog article contains unpaid advertising.

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0