Alsatian Flammkuchen Halloween Style

Tarte Flambée or Flammekueche is a traditional dish from the region Alsace in France. It's like a French style pizza and very popular there. For Halloween I created an own version of this hearty snack. Bon appetite!

Some kind of Halloween pizza...

Last week I attended a big wine tasting where also 3 street food stalls were there to offer some food with the wines. I opted for the Indian with some well done Alu Gobi. I sat down at a table and a couple of minutes later a couple came up to me asking me to sit with me at that table with their food and wine. I accepted of course.  The young man had a Tarte Flambée with a few pumpkin slices and some leeks on it. It wasn't even half the size of the Tarte Flambée I'll show you with this recipe. I asked him, how much he paid for this and his reply was 7.00 Euros. It seemed like some kind of rip-off to me, but these are actually the food prices, when you join some average street food festival.

 

I knew, I could do better...and I did better as you will see.

Because pumpkin aka butternut squash needs some time to get well done, I steamed it first in my wok to make sure it won't be still hard when it's on the Tarte Flambée.

 

Therefore I heat some water in my wok and make it boiling, before I steam the diced butternut squash in a bamboo steamer over it for 10 minutes. 

While the water in my wok starts boiling, I heat up the oven to 230 degrees Celsius for 10 minutes. When the oven is hot enough, the butternut squash will be ready, too.

Butternut squash or any other kinds of pumpkin are offered seasonal and are available ready-to-cook in many supermarkets or even on a farmers market, if you don't fancy all the work to cut a whole punpkin into pieces. Remenber: Halloween is always pumpkin season!

 

Pumpkins are real nutriant and fibre bombs. They contain vitamins A, B 5, C and E as well as magnesium, calium, zinc, L-tryptophane, and plantbased proteins. They hold inflamation in check and are even said to keep you save from depression. So, what the hell you are waiting for?  



Within the 10 minutes while the butternut squash is being steamed and the oven is getting hot, you can cut the spring onions into pieces like shown above.

Some slices on fresh ginger will match perfectly with the butternut squash and adds some great flvour to the Tarte Flammbée.


Now roll out the dough. You can get it at many supermarkets, too.

Spread some Crème Fraiche on the dough as a foundation before you add the toppings and spices.

 

There might be vegan versions of Crème Fraiche out there, which would make the Tarte Flambée entirely vegan instead just vegetarian.



Spread the butternut squash, the spring onions and some pine kernels or pumpkin kernels and the ginger shreds over the dough.

Now season with salt, pepper and muscat to taste.

Insert the baking tray on mid-level and cook for 12 to maximum 15 minutes until the edges are golden and crispy.


Spread one or two table spoons of best olive oil over the Tarte Flambée to add some more deliciousness. Then cut it into handy pieces. Now all is ready to serve. This Tarte Flambée serves two persons well.

My wine recommendation with Tarte Flambée

Regarding Tarte Flambée, I could recommend a classic Riesling d'Alsace, but I had a Muskat-Ottonel quality wine from Germany from the Rheinhessen region. It matches quite well, because this grape has some matching decent muscat flavour, too, and it is light in alcohol and moderate in acid. Cheers!

 

Enjoy & like & share, if you loved it...and Happy Halloween!

 

This blog article contains unpaid advertising.